Thanksgiving for Your Body

This Thanksgiving I’d like to suggest that among the offerings of gratitude for family, friends, health, and happiness, you take a moment to appreciate all the ways your body serves you in life. The body is a magnificent piece of machinery if not art capable of an intrinsic intelligence no man-made machinery could ever achieve. It allows you to interact with this world, accomplish work, and give a loving touch to a child or loved one. The body provides us opportunities every second of our waking day to do more for ourselves and others. It definitely deserves our appreciation and gratitude. This Thanksgiving, take a moment to admire all that it does for you. Without it, you would not even be on this planet experiencing the highs and lows and everything in between. While many of us will overindulge on Thanksgiving, be sure to include some exercise to help it process all those delicious side dishes, desserts, and of course turkey, even tofu turkey. Sitting on the couch after an enjoyable meal feels wonderful but after a while, give it a bit of relief by taking a walk with a family member, playing a game of touch football, or going for a bike ride. Both you and your body will feel all the much better for it.

Here is my short list for my Thanksgiving for my body. Maybe it will inspire you and give you a reason to pause and think about what you may be grateful for as well.

  • I am thankful that I have eyes to see, ears to listen, and the ability to taste food, healthy or not.
  • I’m grateful to be able to walk, use two arms and hands, a voice to communicate, and a mind to navigate through this complex world.
  • I am grateful my body lets me know when it needs to rest, eat, and give special attention to areas that may be in discomfort.
  • I am grateful to breathe on my own.
  • I am grateful for its elasticity to improve physically, deal with change, and heal.
  • I am grateful that I can convey kindness, love, sympathy, and help by writing a note to a friend in need, listening to others, smiling, or an understanding touch.

None of the above would be possible if I didn’t have and use my body for my own well-being and others. All too often it’s easy to criticize ourselves or others, become frustrated over our limitations, or simply not take the time to listen to what our body needs until we become sick. I hope this Thanksgiving you will include your body in whatever way you give thanks and in a way that perhaps you never have before. No matter your situation, we all have a lot to be thankful for. Focus on the positive and what you can do. Appreciating yourself is just as important as appreciating others. This Thanksgiving be sure to do both.

As always, feel free to email me with feedback, questions, or suggestions for topics that interest you. I can be reached at smsunrise@yahoo.com or contact Bria directly. Thank you for reading!

 

This blog pro­vides gen­eral infor­ma­tion and dis­cus­sion about med­i­cine, health and related sub­jects.  The words and other con­tent pro­vided in this blog, and in any linked mate­ri­als, are not intended and should not be con­strued as med­ical advice. If the reader or any other per­son has a med­ical con­cern, he or she should con­sult with an appropriately-licensed physi­cian or other health care worker. Never dis­re­gard pro­fes­sional med­ical advice or delay in seek­ing it because of some­thing you have read on this blog or in any linked materials. If you think you may have a med­ical emer­gency, call your doc­tor or 911 immediately. The views expressed on this blog and web­site have no rela­tion to those of any academic, hospital, practice or other insti­tu­tion with which the authors are  affiliated.

Leave a Reply

